WiLD Music News

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA - APRIL 27: SZA performs onstage at SOMETHING IN THE WATER - Day 2 on April 27, 2019 in Virginia Beach City.

SZA’s highly anticipated sophomore album is “coming very soon” according to her label’s CEO, Terrence “Punch” Henderson. In an interview with Vulture, the R&B star and Top Dawg Entertainment president have come to an agreement on when the LP is set to arrive after a public back-and-forth.

“It’s not really a secret. SZA’s coming very, very soon. We pretty much have the album done…We know exactly when it’s coming out,” he said. “But on the internet, you only get a certain amount of characters. You don’t have time to really go into a full explanation of what’s going on like that when you’re in the moment and tweeting something.”

After the New Jersey native declared it was going to be a “SZA Summer” back in May, the singer cleared up that its the label’s fault as to why the album is not out yet.

“It’s 100% punch and rca on this one,” she wrote in an Instagram comment responding to a fan in July per HotNewHipHop. “I wanted the summer. They wanted more time. Atp I’m just tryna have a good time stress free lol.”

Punch also answered how his relationship is with the CTRL singer at this time. “Is [SZA] happy? I’d say so. Last album, triple platinum,” Punch replied. “What happens is people put a story into their own narrative and create a situation that’s not really there. I’m not going to say there’s never been contention.”

“There’s always contention, especially when you’re dealing with creative. Difference in opinions, it happens, but that doesn’t mean somebody is unhappy or anything. It could’ve been a conversation in the moment.”

Most recently SZA teamed up with fellow TDE artist Doechii for the track “Persuasive,” which dropped last month and back in June the R&B singer dropped the deluxe version of her triple-platinum debut album CTRL.

SZA Drops ‘CTRL’ Deluxe Edition On Album’s 5th Anniversary

Hurry, this is not a drill. SZA just dropped the deluxe edition of her debut album CTRL on the project’s fifth anniversary.

While fans anticipate the New Jersey native’s sophomore album, which the artist teased, will be released sometime in the next few months dubbing it a “SZA Summer,” she has decided to drop a few new songs to her critically acclaimed CTRL.

In the deluxe version of CTRL, the R&B songstress has added six new songs to the tracklist and an alternate version of the Grammy-nominated hit “Love Galore.” Along with the original 14 tracks, she’s added, “2AM,” “Miles,” “Percolator,” “Tread Carefully,” “Awkward,” and “Jodie.”

The singer teased a release of a deluxe edition earlier this week on Twitter writing, “Unreleased songs from 2017 to celebrate 5 .. me thinks.”

In another tweet, the Grammy-winner also thanked her loyal fans for their continued support. “This is JUST a gift for camp ctrl,” the singer wrote. “Nothing more nothing less . if u family you get it . 5 yrs is a long time . Thank you for changing my life I love you . Happy anniversary [white heart emoji] #HAPPYCTRLANNIVERSARY”


Take a look at how fans are receiving the deluxe below:

  • 1.

  • 3.

  • 4.

  • 5.

  • 6.

  • 7.

  • 8.

  • 9.


  • 10.

  • 11.

  • 12.

  • 13.

  • 14.

  • 15.

  • 16.

  • 18.

  • 19.


  • 20.

Sign me up for the WiLD 94.1 email newsletter!

As a WiLD 94.1 VIP member you get access to tons of perks. Get exclusive pre-sale codes for the hottest concerts, contests, and hip-hop and local news.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.